Have Ohio State Taxes Changed in 2021?

tax paperwork

Ohio is unusual compared to some states when it comes to sales and use taxes. For some states, everything is handled on a statewide basis, and sales taxes are uniform across the state.

Ohio has chosen to grant a bit more autonomy and agency to its individual counties. The state is comprised of 88 counties, and each county can set its own sales tax rates.

Adding to the complexity, these tax rates can change mid-year. At the beginning of each calendar quarter, these county rates can change. The Ohio Department of Taxation posts the updated rates on its website.

At the beginning of the calendar year of 2021, one Ohio county modified its sales and use tax rate. Portage County decreased its rate from 7.25% to 7.00%. Portage County is the home to Kent State University, as well as the cities of Stow and Ravenna. Portage is adjacent to the Akron-Canton population, though it does not include either Akron or Canton.

Are Any Counties Changing in the Second Quarter?

Coming up on April 1, 2021, two other Ohio counties will see their rates change for sales and use taxes.

Lorain County’s comparatively low rate will go lower, from 6.75% to 6.50%. Lorain County is the site of Oberlin College, as well as the cities of Vermilion, Elyria, Amherst, Avon, and Avon Lake. It sits on the shore of Lake Erie, west of Cleveland. Among other notable residents, Lorain County is the birthplace of the late songwriter Jason Molina of Songs: Ohia and Magnolia Electric Company.

Athens County’s sales and use tax will go up from 7.00% to 7.25%. Athens County is the location of Ohio University and Hocking College. The county is home to approximately 65,000 residence, primarily in the cities of Athens and Nelsonville.